top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecnlarge

A Short Guide to Living Cruelty Free

Updated: May 14, 2019

A couple of years ago, in 2016, when I was fresh out of grad school, jobless, and seeking some way to make an impact, I stumbled across a viral video depicting a rabbit in a guillotine-like contraption with eye drops being forcibly put into it's eyes. Maybe I was naive, but I had never realized that cosmetics that I used everyday were being tested on animals. This video and revelation blew my mind and I went down a rabbit hole of research. (Pun intended.) As I sat on my bed beside my beautiful, rescue hound, Honey Bee, I couldn't imagine someone putting her in a choke hold to see if the chapstick I wore would give her a rash. I was sold.




This video made by Lush (an excellent cruelty free company) is not the original video I saw, but it's a good place to start if you are curious about the #becrueltyfree movement.


The first thing I did was go through my current collection of cosmetics and throw away the products that were not cruelty free which proved to be a good idea for two reasons: 1) Almost all of my products were expired. 2) Almost all of my products were not cruelty free. I want to mention that I now understand that it was wasteful to throw away products that were not expired just because they were not cruelty free. Today, I would use the rest of that product and then not repurchase it.


As I was going through my cosmetics and googling whether or not a certain company was cruelty free, I noticed that certified cruelty free products are marked with a rabbit on the back. There are a couple versions of this rabbit logo and they can often be faked. Here are the real deal bunnies:







If I'm not sure if something is cruelty free, I will do more research before I purchase it. I also end up sticking to the same brands that I know are cruelty free, so I usually don't have to worry about it. And to be clear, products can be cruelty free without a bunny logo on the back, but may require some more research, as I said previously, or some reading of the fine print.


Being cruelty free has not been easy, but I'm trying to put my money where my mouth is, so to speak, and use my dollar for good. I'm going to list some of my go-to cruelty free products below, so you don't have to stumble as much as I did in the beginning. I am also going to list where I buy the products; some of them are more specific than others but all can found online.


Household Cleaners (Yes, even these are tested on animals.)

method - We use the dishwashing liquid, the all-purpose cleaner and the laundry detergent in liquid form. Target usually has a decent sized collection of their products.


Skincare/Body Wash or Soap

Shea Moisture - I use their face moisturizer regularly and have used their body wash and body lotion. I buy the products that are for moisturizing and usually include aloe vera. I have been able to find Shea Moisture at most places I shop, but I would say the biggest variety is at Ulta and Target.

Alba Botanica - My whole family uses their reef-safe sunscreen and I have used their pineapple face wash before. Surprisingly, I find Alba Botanica mostly at Martin's. If you find the lavender sunscreen elsewhere, please let me know!

Pacifica - I am currently using their aromatherapy roller ball perfume and their rose water facial spray. I can usually only find this at Target.

method - I recently tried their body wash and I am loving it. I'm using the Stay Hydrated body wash because I have dry skin. I have only seen the body washes at Target so far.

Megababe - If you have thigh chafe, look no further. I think most of us thick chicks have used deodorant to stop thigh chafe, but that's not good for our lady bits, as I have recently found out. Megababe smells fantastic, does not have aluminum in it and WORKS. I hear their Bust Dust and regular deodorant is an A+ as well. I found Megababe in the check out line at Ulta once, but will probably have to order online in the future.

Everyone - Their lemon body wash is actually the most divine scent on this planet and it makes my skin feel really soft. It's usually available at Martin's and Target.


*I should also mention that I don't wear makeup anymore, so I won't be listing any recommendations for makeup.


Haircare

Shea Moisture - I regularly use their shampoo, conditioner, and scalp scrub of all different varieties, but usually for anti-frizz and for curly hair. My husband also uses their beard balms and oils. They also have good shampoo bars and bars of soap for the body. Once again, pretty much anywhere, but the biggest selection is usually at Target. (Have I mentioned Target enough yet?)

OGX - I use their curl sculpting mousse, shampoo and conditioner. I usually buy this at Target or Walmart.

Alba Botanica - I am currently loving their leave-in conditioner that I found at TJ Maxx.

Love, Beauty and Planet - I have tried and liked their conditioner and can only find it at Target.


Hygiene

Tom's - I use their deodorant and their toothpaste. My favorite scent is their lavendar lemon and it's harder to find, but their baby powder scented deodorant is usually available at Martin's and Target.

Native Deodorant - Many of my friends like their deodorant and they just started showing up in my local Target!


Men's (Of course anybody can use the above products and my husband does, but I wanted to list some products specifically for men. These are contributions from my husband, Logan.)

Shea Moisture - Logan uses the 4 in 1 All-Over Wash: "This is the only one I have ever been able to find that I can use for my beard, face, hair and body. It's actually good for all over." He also uses the beard face washes and finds them all at Target or Martin's.


And remember don't be cruel!

47 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page